top of page
Writer's pictureNhat Anh Phan

Week 6 updates

Shot 2


Bridge Shader

I brought the bridge into MAYA to UV and Substance to texture it. I focused on adding deterioration marks using grunge maps mixed with AO and curvature maps.


Bridge shader Images of Reference


Trees

I added more variations using Tempest's Speedtree bushes and randomizing the trees colors. I refined the shaders to remove hot highlights that were sticking out and made the trees look uniform and reduced the amount of trees to help establish scale as we can see through to the ground.


Shot 3


Tunnel

I fixed the model of the tunnel to accurately follow an English Bond pattern using alternating lines which are resampled based on the length of the brick. This procedural workflow helps if we need to change the brick size later down the line.


Shot 1


Based on the feedback from last week, I scaled down the size of trees and grasses. I also moved some trees that were too close to the train furthur away. The terrains in the back was too far away hence it was not showing any parallax, I moved it closer and slightly scaled it down.


I also switched the set up from having the train move through the environment, to having the environment move instead of the train. This allows for proper calculations of motion blur when we incorporate rain.



Shot 5


More variations in trees were added with some higher trees to establish shadows. This hopefully helps with scale issues and allows for more dramatic lighting. I also paid attention to the shaders to remove sharp highlights and make the environment more uniform.


I developed a preliminary dirt shader for the ground but more details will be added for the areas surrounding the train track.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page