top of page
Writer's pictureNhat Anh Phan

Week 5 updates

Shot 3

Environment

My main focus for this week was developing the environment for shot 3.


Tunnel

I modelled this tunnel while being conscious of the topology to allow for extrusions to mimic bricks. However I am still having difficulties figuring out how to stagger bricks rather than having them laid on top of one another.


Reference


I gave each primitive a random color to be brought into the procedural shader and used as a mask to mix brick colors. This base color is then used to be mixed with a lot of noise and a curvature mask to add in wornness. I will be bringing this into substance to add in small details.


Tunnel shader


Trees with Snow


I used Houdini's Labs Snow Buildup node to scatter snow onto our tree assets. As I ran into a lot of optimization issues with the tree geometry being quite heavy, I came up with the idea to VDB the trees first and then run it through this process which helped a lot in iteration time. However the snow still looks low res which I am planning to fix through shaders.


Tree with Snow Set up


Terrain Shaders

I shaded the terrains based on its normal. More work will be coming for this aspect.


Foreground


I also worked on building the snow piles along the track and the rocks/ dried grass on top of it.



Shot 2


Tree scattering

I worked on the tree variation of this shot using Tempest's Speedtree assets.


Reference for foliage scattering


The terrain shaders were also missing a lot of details so I mixed in white stripes that goes around the mountains as well as blending in a bump noise using Ethan's flow mask exported from Gaea.



Shot 5


Environment



I started working on the tree layouts for shot 5.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page